The following lists the counties of the United Kingdom and Ireland that are used in the calendar and index.

English Counties and their abbreviations.

The counties used in this edition, for the British Isles and Ireland are the historic counties, in Britain those used are those before the local government re-organisation in 1974.

For the abbreviations see Hunnisett, Indexing for Editors, p. 24. The abbreviations are only used in the index when they follow a place-name in the calendar, but are never used in the main calendar when it is the county itself that is being referred to.

County NameAbbreviation
Bedfordshire Beds
Berkshire Berks
Buckinghamshire Bucks
Cambridgeshire Cambs
Cheshire Chesh
Cornwall Cornw
Cumberland Cumb
Derbyshire Derbs
Devon -
Dorset Dors
Durham Durh
Essex -
Gloucestershire Glos
Hampshire Hants
Herefordshire Heref
Hertfordshire Herts
Huntingdonshire Hunts
Kent -
Lancashire Lancs
Leicestershire Leics
Lincolnshire Lincs
Middlesex Midd
Norfolk Norf
Northamptonshire Northants
Northumberland Northumb
Nottinghamshire Notts
Oxfordshire Oxon
Rutland Rut
Shropshire Salop
Somerset Som
Staffordshire Staffs
Suffolk Suff
Surrey -
Sussex -
Warwickshire Warw
Westmorland Westmor
Wiltshire Wilts
Worcestershire Worcs
Yorkshire Yorks

Welsh Counties

See Richards, Melville, Welsh Administrative and Territorial Units, Medieval and Modern (Cardiff, 1969), pp. 231-2.

Anglesey Glamorgan
Brecknock Merioneth
Caernarvon Monmouthshire
Cardiganshire Montgomeryshire
Carmarthenshire           Pembrokeshire
Denbighshire Radnorshire

Scottish Counties

Aberdeenshire Lanarkshire
Angus (also known as Forfarshire) Midlothian (Edinburghshire)
Argyll (including Islay, Jura and Mull) Moray
Banffshire Nairnshire Orkney
Berwickshire (except Berwick) Peeblesshire
Bute (including Arran) Perthshire
Caithness Renfrewshire
Clackmannanshire Ross & Cromarty
Dunbartonshire Roxburghshire
Dumfriesshire Selkirkshire
East Lothian (Haddingtonshire) Shetland
Fife Stirlingshire
Inverness-shire (includes North & South Uist, & part of Lewis
Kincardineshire Sutherland
Kinross-shire West Lothian (Linlithgowshire)
Kirkcudbrightshire Wigtownshire

Irish Counties

The counties are as set out in Gasaitéar na hÉireann /Gazetteer of Ireland; Ordnance Survey of Ireland (Dublin, 1989), p. xxxiv.

Antrim Limerick
Armagh Londonderry
Carlow Longford
Cavan Louth
Clare Mayo
Cork Meath
Donegal Monaghan
Down Offaly
Dublin Roscommon
Fermanagh             Sligo
Galway Tipperary
Kerry Tyrone
Kildare Waterford
Kilkenny Westmeath
Laois Wexford
Leitrim Wicklow